Adjust text size: A- | A | A+



Ports of Call

The Fullerton College (FC) Faculty Senate represents faculty interests and views in academic and professional manners in the College and District. The Faculty Senate makes recommendations to the College President, and acts as the committee on committees, establishing faculty representation on College and District committees. Any full-time faculty member is eligible to serve on the Faculty Senate. The Senate holds bimonthly meetings on alternate Thursdays at 3pm in the Faculty Lounge.


The FC Faculty Senate derives its power and responsibilities from Title 5 of the California Education Code. As representatives of the faculty, the FC Faculty Senate makes recommendations to the college and district with respect to academic and professional matters, the so-called "10+1", defined as follows:

  1. curriculum, including establishing prerequisites and placing courses within disciplines
  2. degree and certificate requirements
  3. grading policies
  4. educational program development
  5. standards and policies regarding student preparation and success
  6. district governance structures, as related to faculty roles
  7. faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self study and annual reports
  8. policies for faculty professional development activities
  9. processes for program review
  10. processes for institutional planning and budget development
  11. and other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon between the governing board and the academic senate.

As established in our Constitution, the FC Faculty Senate promotes the cause of education and promotes communication and understanding between college and district constituencies to achieve the highest possible degree of professional relations, and to assure regularized means whereby those affected by major policy, procedure, or program development or changes may have a voice in their development prior to their adoption, as governed by and consistent with all provisions of California Law.

Senate Executive Committee 2016-17

Pete Snyder, President
Josh Ashenmiller, President-Elect
Jennifer Combs, Curriculum Chair
Karen Markley, Treaurer
Heather Halverson, Secretary